19th Japan Media Arts Festival | Call for Entries

Jul 28 • Latest News • 850 Views • No Comments on 19th Japan Media Arts Festival | Call for Entries

Deadline: September 9, 2015 (18:00 Japan Standard Time)


The Japan Media Arts Festival is a comprehensive festival of Media Arts (Media Geijutsu)

that honors outstanding works from a diverse range of media – from animation and comics

to media art and games. The festival gives awards in each of its four divisions: Art,

Entertainment, Animation, and Manga. Since its inception in 1997, the festival has

recognized significant works of high artistry and creativity, and in addition to a yearly

Exhibition of Award-winning Works has held other events, such as symposiums,

screenings, and showcases.


Entries are sought from professional, amateur, independent and commercial creators

across the globe. Works completed or released between September 3, 2014 and

September 9, 2015 are eligible for entry in the four divisions – Art, Entertainment,

Animation and Manga.



Entry Period: Tuesday, July 7 – Wednesday, September 9, 2015 (18:00 Japan Standard


Announcement of Award-winning Works: Late November 2015

Awards Ceremony: Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Exhibition of Award-winning Works: Wednesday, February 3 – Sunday, February 14, 2016

Venue: The National Art Center, Tokyo (Roppongi, Tokyo) and other locations


Entry Outline

The Four Divisions(Art, Entertainment, Animation, Manga)


Art Division

Works of art created with new media and digital technologies.

Interactive art, media installations, video works, video installations, graphic art (digital

illustrations, digital photographs, computer graphics, etc.), internet art, media

performances, etc.


Entertainment Division

Works for entertainment created with digital technologies.

Games (video games, online games, etc.), video / sound works (music

videos, independent and advertising videos, etc.), multimedia productions (including

special-effects videos, performances, projections), gadgets, electronic devices, websites

(including web promotion, open source projects), application software, etc.


Animation Division

Animated feature films, animated short films, animated series, etc.


Manga Division

Comics published in book form, comics published in a magazine (including works still

being serialized), comics published online (for computer or mobile), self-published comics,




Works must be completed or released between: Wednesday, September 3, 2014 and

Wednesday, September 9, 2015.



For each division, one Grand Prize, four Excellence Awards, and three New Face Awards

will be awarded on the basis of artistic quality and creativity. In addition, a Special

Achievement Award will be awarded on the recommendation of the Jury to a person or

group having made a special contribution to Media Arts in any of the four divisions.


Grand Prize: Certificate*, trophy, 600,000 Japanese Yen

Excellence Award: Certificate*, trophy, 300,000 Japanese Yen

New Face Award: Certificate*, trophy, 200,000 Japanese Yen

Special Achievement Award: Certificate*, trophy

Other outstanding entries will be chosen by the Jury as Jury Selections.


JMAF Official Website:


Organizer: Japan Media Arts Festival Executive Committee

Contact Information: Japan Media Arts Festival Secretariat [c/o CG-ARTS]

Email: jmaf@cgarts.or.jp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

« »